Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) Study Guide Review

The Certified Internal Auditor Exam offered by the Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) certifies successful applicants as Certified Internal Auditors (CIA).

In order for applicants to sit for the CIA Exam, they must first meet the eligibility requirements set forth by the IIA:
* Candidates must hold a BA or higher from an accredited institution. Exceptions can be made for special situations, like where a university student, partaking in their final year, can sit for the exam.
* Candidates must also have a minimum of 24 months of auditing experience. Master’s degree work does count as experience.
* Candidates must have fine moral character and fashion their behavior according to the IAA Code of Ethics.

The CIA Exam is a four part exam. Each part contains 100 multiple choice questions. The candidate will have two hours and forty five minutes to complete each section.
The four parts of the CIA exam are as follows:

1. The Internal audit activity’s role in governance, risk and control
2. Conducting the internal audit engagement
3. Business analysis and information technology
4. Business management skills

Candidates can take the exam at any Pearson Vue testing center. These testing centers are found throughout the US. Upon application acceptance, the candidate will be able to schedule the exam date by phone or via the Internet.
IAA members receive a discount on the CIA Exam fee. They pay $60, while non-members pay $75, and students pay $30. The exam is administered in four parts – each part costs $130 for members and $160 for non-members. Students pay $85 for each part of the four part exam.

Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a Reply